How to trust God when going through difficult times

I’d like to share with you some reflections from Andrea Mayes, an amazing woman in my church who has had to deal with a great number of difficulties. Andrea wrote these words several years ago and still holds true to them today despite the continuation of difficult family circumstances.

“Recently I have had tests and challenges come at me from all sides.  They have included 2 ½ months of morning sickness; Stephen, Lucy and I being sick with various illnesses; a very busy time at work; Stephen looking for work; and mountains of dirty dishes and clothes to face each weekend.  I would normally consider all these things happening at once to be a curse, not a blessing.  But I want to show you how the bible has helped me to think differently about these tests and challenges.

When I am having a difficult time, the first question I ask is “Why me?”

 In 1 Corinthians chapter 10 verse 13 it states:

Every test that you have experienced is the kind that normally comes to people.  But God keeps his promise, and he will not allow you to be tested beyond your power to remain firm: at the time you are put to the test, he will give you the strength to endure it, and so provide you with a way out.

This verse tells me that other people also experience the problems that I am going through.  The answer to my question of “Why me?” is “Why not?”  There is nowhere in the bible where Jesus promises his followers that he will spare them the discomforts of this world.  In fact in his prayer in John chapter 17, verse 15 he says

I do not ask that you take them out of the world, but I do ask you to keep them safe from the Evil One”.

1 Corinthians chapter 10 verse 13 also says two other things to me.  It says that God is in control – he will not allow me to be tested beyond my power to remain firm.  It also says that God will give me the strength to endure it.  This is good news.  I have found that the worst thing for me to think during difficult times is “I can’t cope” because I then feel helpless.  This bible verse challenges that type of thinking, and no matter how difficult things get, I can tell myself “I will cope; I can get through this time.”

 

If I based my whole idea of how to go through difficult times on 1 Corinthians chapter 10 verse 13, I could take an attitude of “God has given me this test, so let’s try to get through it quickly so I can get back to normal”.

However, I find that James chapter 1 verses 2 to 4 shows me a completely different attitude that I should be adopting.  I want to read you the version in the Message: 

Consider it a sheer gift, friends when tests and challenges come at you from all sides.  You know that under pressure your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colours.  So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely.  Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.

 

This verse showed me that my attitude had to change.  My natural instinct is to think of difficulties as a curse to be avoided.  The phrase “Don’t try to get out of anything prematurely”

has really made a big impact on how I think about the whole process of difficulties.  It has helped me understand that God wants me to use every difficulty I go through to develop my faith.

I would be the first to admit that I need to become more spiritually mature; however, I found that I didn’t really know how to develop my faith when going through difficulties.  So, I want to share some of the things I have discovered on how to develop faith and trust God in difficult times.

I have found that learning to trust God has been a three step process.  The first step was finding passages in the bible that help me trust God.  The second step was changing my thinking so that it is consistent with the passage in the bible.  The third step was changing my actions so that they are consistent with my new way of thinking.

Let me give you an example.  One of the passages in the bible that I I have used to help me trust God is Proverbs Chapter 3 verse 5, which says

Trust in the Lord with all your heart.  Never rely on what you think you know”. 

The second step was working out how my thinking needed to change to be consistent with this verse.  When I think about my difficulties, I often think they are dreadful and I don’t understand why I should be going through them.  But this verse tells me not to rely on what I think I know.  Let me tell you a story that helped me in this area:

There once was a farmer who had one son and they were working together to bring in the harvest.  One day the son fell off the tractor and broke his arm and couldn’t help any more.  The farmer thought this was very bad luck.  A week later an army recruitment officer came through and the farmers son was not taken away to fight because he had a broken arm.  The farmer thought this was very good luck.

So was it good or bad that the son’s arm was broken?  It depends partially on what happens in the future.

This simple story illustrates that often, like the farmer, we think we know whether something is good or bad, but our opinion might change with hindsight.  Only God knows what will happen in the future and he promises in Romans chapter 8 verse 28:

We know that in all things God works for good with those who love him, those whom he has called according to his purpose.”

 This is why we can trust in the Lord with all of our hearts. 

After I have thought about all this, I find my thoughts about the difficult times I am facing have changed.  I think things like “God knows what he is doing and his plans for me are good”.  I also think “I don’t understand why I am facing these difficult times but that is OK because I don’t have to understand.  After all, God is my heavenly father, I need to trust him like a child trusts their father”.  I find this thought is good for encouraging humility!

The third step after changing my thoughts was changing my actions.  One action that I found I needed to change was complaining to other people about the difficult times.  Instead, when I acknowledge to other people the challenges I am facing, I need to acknowledge the goodness of God in giving the strength and resources needed to endure the difficulty and grow in my faith.  For example, many people at work asked me how I was and for two and a half months, I honestly said that “I was feeling dreadful because of morning sickness”.  However, I also usually added something like “It is nice to know that based on my previous pregnancy, the morning sickness probably won’t last longer than a couple more weeks and I will have a beautiful baby at the end of the pregnancy.”

Another action I found that I needed to change to show that I am trust God was to stop worrying about the situation.  I did this by saying to myself “God has this situation in hand” and then I think about other things.  It says in Philippians chapter 4, verse 8:

 fill your minds with those things that are good and that deserve praise; things that are true, noble, pure, lovely and honourable.” 

 I think about God’s character, I think about how much he loves me, that he sent Jesus to die on the cross for my sins, so that I could be put right with God.  I think about times when God has answered prayer, particularly my prayers during other difficult times for the strength to get through each day.  As I think on these things I discover that sometimes it is in difficult times when God has been closest to me, and demonstrated his power, although I often didn’t know it at the time.

 

So how can we trust God when going through difficult times?  I suggest you find some bible verses that you think will help you trust God and decide to accept them and apply them to your life.  The ones on the outline could be a starting point for you.  I then suggest you take some time to work out what you are thinking, and whether it is consistent with the content of the bible verses.  If it isn’t then you may need to change your thoughts.  I then suggest you look at your actions and see whether they are consistent with your thinking and with the bible verses, if not you may need to make some adjustments.

If you are not going through a difficult time at the moment, you can use the same process to apply what you read in the bible to any area of your life.

 I found that it is not easy to change how I think and act, but with the power of the Holy Spirit, I believe we can all make these types of changes and trust God when going through difficult times.

“Heavenly Father, thank you for the tests and challenges you give us.  Thank you for giving us the strength to endure them and the opportunity to grow in spiritual maturity.  Please help us learn to trust you when we go through difficult times.  We ask this in Jesus name. Amen.”

 

498 Responses

  1. Hi guys,I’m learning sumthing through ur comments and guidance.I guess we all pass through difficult times but with God evrything shall pass.I’m going through difficult time nw,I’m currently @ hme,nt working nor studying.evrything went well till I passed my matric den suddenly wen I hve to complete my studies @ university things changed.my mom was de one paying for my fees,came a point we’re things got complicated @ work nd she’s nw @ hme.I’ve been applying for jobs out der n learnerships bt nothing cums up,I get no call.I sumtyms ask myself dat is God Punishing me or wat?? Wat have I done wrong to deserve things.nw I’m @ hme,my mom is also @ hme.we keep on applying 4 jobs bt nothing cums up.are we cursed or what?*crying*

    • Dear Reneilwe,

      I’m really touched by your mail. I’m sorry about the challenges that you are facing. You seem to be questioning whether you are cursed?! As long as you have accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord and Saviour, then I’m here to tell you that you are BLESSED. Stop being negative. God is just testing you. Being a Christian, doesn’t mean that you are exempted from challenges and trials in this world. In fact as a Christian, the devil will try his best to make life difficult for God’s children. Consider the trials Job went through in the bible, yet he didn’t curse God nor forsake him. Consider also the difficulties our dear Lord Jesus faced on our behalf, and he took them humbly and meekly, like a Lamb. That ought to be our same attitude as his followers. Be humble in your trials, be silent, and wait on the Lord, he will renew your strength, he will answer your prayers. Keep on applying for Jobs, and prayerfully let God do the rest.
      Our Lord Jesus said that we would face many challenges in this world,

      John 16:33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

      Believe that Christ has overcome the world and have peace…

      I am praying that God will turn this TEST into your TESTIMONY
      God bless you and your mum.

      Love,
      Emma

    • God is waiting on you to really trust him with your heart not your mouth and then he will see that all your needs are met then he will get the glory. remember faith is what you cannot see.

      • Thank you Donna, this is what I need at the moment. Saying I trust God but deep inside I am doubting what I am saying. I have to learn to trust God completely and not doubt Him.

    • No. God does not punish us. Maybe he is just seeing how much you truly love him. Yes times are hard and scary, but do you still worship and praise him. Thank him for the good and the bad. Pray. Fast. Take time to listen to him! Clear your mind as much as possible and focus on him because he is whispering to you; he whispers to us because he is so near to us. God will not evacuate you from any situation, because he loves you. And because he loves you he will walk with you through the dark times. Continue worshipping him, thanking him, praying, and spending time in his word and presence and he will bring your through. God is true and his word and promises will never come back void. Hang in there. Love Chasity.

    • Hi, I also am going through a rough patch, I am currently 25 years and just passed my 4th wedding anniversary, and am expecting my 2nd child, when my husband who is an alcoholic currently decided to leave home, and decided he would rather drink than be a husband and father, also he left me stuck with no money, I am currently working to pay for a sitter and to eat, he won;t talk to me, and its just a constant head game. During all of this my mother was life flighted with stroke, she is home now, but she has a long recovery ahead of her, and has lost some of her memory, and a totalled my car, so another bill is on top of plate, I am depressed severely but know I have to keep going for my children but i just go home and sleep b/c I don’t know what to do with my life. In my heart, i feel like this is not what my husband does not want, but the head games shows another, i pray all the time, i dont know if i can add any more to my plate.

    • I’m a single mother of two children whose struggling to put food on the table, gas in the car to go to work and clothes on my children’s back. As if that’s not enough my 17 y.o. son is A DVD/ODD and steals. HE KEEPS TAKING MY debit card and making charges which utilizes the little bit of Bill money I do have, but in most cases just sends me into overdraft. I don’t know what to do, I’m talking from as low as $46-$1300! I can’t catch up, and no amount of praying or hiding cards seems to help. My pre-schooler is suffering because I can’t provide for her. Please pray for me & my family.

      • Be encouraged single mother of two. I have three kids and married and both me and hubby work but with over 2000 a month in daycare after the birth of our newborn daughter our finances have hit rock bottom and we have been having serious bank issues. The nsf. Fees have kicked us. Try using a prepaid debit or cash and canceling your debit card. Im.praying for you. Be blessed.

      • Wow I will be praying for you but you need to put your foot down with your son. Tell him if he do it again he will have to leave your home. The young man is almost 18 years old and you can not continue to let him think this is alright to do this. Show him!

      • Change your PIN number immediately! Keep the card on your person at all times, and with a new PIN that you memorize and don’t write down somewhere, he will not have access to your account. You are the parent, so stop letting him control your life. Of course you are there to take care of him, but do not owe him anything and can take care of him on your terms, not his. Prayer does work because God will help strengthen you, but He also wants us to do the practical footwork He puts in front of us. God can’t change your PIN, but you can. What God will do is give you the courage and strength and determination to stand up to your son with a spirit of love and not fear and co-dependancy. Prayers for you and your family :)

    • dear Reneilwe your night of sorrows ends right nw & ur morning of joy begins ths very instant.dry your tears this moment & begin to thank God for something good is going to happen. God is a livivg God and you already have His blessing. clap your hands and begin to praise God this moment,i say dry your tears blessed one.

      • Thank you . . I feel you are talking to me! I am going thru a difficult problem at work and I came to this website, which God directed me to go, and here I am reading your comments as they are God’s words to me. Thank you so much – God Bless you!

  2. Please send my loving greetings to your family and all the brothers
    and sisters with you in the ministry.
    Hope to hear from you soon…………………………….
    Yours brother in his vineyard
    Pastor,B.Hosanna.Christ Glory Fire Ministries, Pulletikurru,Ambajipet(Mandal) ,East Godavari(Dt) Andhra Pradesh ,India -Pin,533239,Phoneno,+918856220455,Cell,+919441230698, +919849130296 ,+919908357754,www.christgloryfireministries.webs.com,www.christglory.multiply.com,My,,Skype,,pastor.hosanna1,,christglory3,,E-mail,christglory98@hotmail.com,hosanna98@gmail.com, christglory2003@hotmail.com

  3. realy its very good one. It helped me and I can use this for my preaching.

    Thank you,

  4. I thank God for the testimony posted above.I am currently going through a difficult time in my life.Everyday i have been depressed by all the going ons in my life but after reading this article,i am much more empowered to say to God,”if it’s your will Lord then so be it.”I believe that God has a great blessing for me at the end of these trials.All i need to do is to just hold on the faith.

  5. This has been really inspiring to read. Thank you for posting!

  6. I have been having difficulties in having faith in God and turning my problems over to him. But I found that this reading was very good and plan on getting a bible soon. Thank you

  7. What if you’re going through something much worse than being sick and being behind on chores?

    • Same exact advice. Also find that constant honest conversation with the Lord is very important for me. He wants to know we seriously know that He is listening and I beg Him to give me stronger faith. Please don’t ever stop trying to get closer to God, Kaitlin. He doesn’t ever let you go and definitely NEVER breaks a promise. I know some people seem like they never lose faith, but the truth is that we all have doubts and fears that get hold of us at times. STOP when this happens, identify these feelings as the enemy, and pray against the enemy in Jesus name. I chose to say his name out loud. (satan can’t stand up to that, ever)
      Thank you Lord for loving Kaitlin, myself, and every body under the sun with a personal love, a greater love than we know. Help us during painful trials and despair to know you have our backs and you will carry us through. It is so herd here on earth, Lord. We need you so much. Thank you for hearing our prayers! Amen!

  8. Your message has really given me an insight and an encouragement and a reason on why and how to build my faith and trust inGod. Most especially the bible verses and am going to memorize each to stay at my finger tips. Thank u very much

  9. Reneilwe…

    Please think positive in this situation “THIS TOO SHALL PASS” I remember when I was laid off for 4 years I was constantly still getting bless 4 kids, divorced, and at home with my mom. I found a job and then 4 years later I was back going through the same thing again this time I was married but there was still a need to work! 10 months later after I stop asking God why I had to go through the same thing again and started getting my old work things out of the closet (blanket, my candy dish, etc..) I got faith and got those thing ready sat them on the dining room table and told myself and my sister someone would call me! I told God I wanted to be working by October 31, (not that I believe in halloween) I just love the candy and most of all the candy corns. The job of my dreams called and guess what I started work on a Friday, October 31. I kept saying to myself why can’t I just start Monday like normal people would say come Monday, and God reminded me that I told him I wanted to be working by October 31. God is listening all the time one of my favorite scripture Jeremiah 29: 11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

    God Knows HE will HE shall turn things around in your life HOLD ON AND KEEP THE FAITH I PROMISE YOU HE WILL DELIVER FOR THE BOTH OF YOU!

    Yours Truly,
    Destined Ministries
    DM

  10. Your story is truly encouraging. My 7 yr old son has been making statements of sexual abuse regarding his biological father; we are divorced. I am now remarried to a Christian man and we have another son together. My son’s father is denyong the sexual abuse and states we are coaching him to say theses things. Because there is not physical evidence of the abuse no one seems to believe me , my husband or even my son who is making the statements. We went through a custodial evaluator and she also believes our son was coached or at least put that in her report. Now we may face supervised visits with our son just for trying to protect him and so the right thing, and he may have to live with his father whom he says sexually abused him. We don’t understand why this is happening but we have to keep trusting God.

    • if you are a catholic then pray the St. Jude novena(the patron of hopeless cases) Trust in God completely for this is a very small thing before HIM. The devil is a liar and for real the true living God we are serving will never let this situation go on for long without revealing the truth. Keep your faith strong and all will be well. God bless you and your son.

  11. Amen i am standing in the same situation and face difficulties but after reading this i thank god for everything in the mighty name of Jesus and should change my way of thinking and put mt trust in god cause his the almighty god.

  12. God is so merciful and kind,he never fails us,in every situation,he still remains God.

  13. Im 15 I’ve been through hell and back since I was 9. I used to go to church 4 to 3 times a week but things started going down hill around may . My mom lost her Job . She’s a single parent . I have 3 brothers . My mom was arrested in August for not having an ID !. Social services and took me and my 11 year old brother away my social worker can be quite lazy so they switched my case worker and after 2 months they decided all the charges someone called was a lie so they told me I could go home since my mom passed all her drug tests and parenting classes … But now that I get to go home my mom is pretty much homeless :( my older brother and her live in a hotel and I have a dog where I don’t know where to take her or what to do I really do not want put her to sleep :( Im in foster care Im not aloud to do anything i really am tired of being here
    I feel as if im being punished by god i don’t understand .. I keep pushing and pushing myself to keep going in life . Im tired of this .. I never get a break ..

    • Hi Bella, Thanks for sharing what’s gone wrong for you. I am learning a different way to express trust in God using the laments from the Old Testament, such as Psalm 13. It allows me to be honest with God about what is going on in my life and how I feel about it. The basic structure of the lament is addressing God; complaining about what is happening; asking God to fix it; giving God a motivation to fix it (such as reminding Him of his promises) and then, when you are ready, to promise to thank God for hearing you and praise Him for his response. In reading about laments I am reminded that God rescues people when they cry out to him. In following the lament pattern for praying I have found it helpful to be real about how hard life is and how much I rely on God to fix it. Then reminding God of his promises and remembering how he has saved me in the past gives me hope that he will save me once again and I will be in a place to praise him for his goodness to me. I find I am also watching for God’s response, so small blessings I may have overlooked as coincidences now speak to my heart as God answering my prayer. Try it, perhaps you will also be relieved to pray something like Psalm 13:

      How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever?
      How long will you hide your face from me?
      How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
      and every day have sorrow in my heart?
      How long will my enemy triumph over me?

      Look on me and answer, O Lord my God.
      Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death;
      my enemy will say, “I have overcome him,”
      and my foes will rejoice when I fall.

      But I trust in your unfailing love;
      my heart rejoices in your salvation.
      I will sing to the Lord,
      for he has been good to me.

    • That is life Bella. But trust God, he will neither leave nor forsake you. Pray and do what you can to help yourself and let him take care of the rest. Do not be afraid. Be still and know that he is God. You will come out of this a better and stronger person and you will be able to empower others. Do not waver in your faith, no matter what life throws at you. From experience, I know that indeed all things work together for the good of those that love God and are called according to his purpose. This will work for your good, trust me.

      • I’m having a very difficult time in my life. I have NO FRIENDS, I’m often alone and I keep telling myself that I am NOBODY. I’m often sad, lonely and depressed. Honestly sometimes I cry to the Heavens wishing I could see God or wishing for him to come and take me home because of the pain I’m going through. It feels like I’ve lost faith and God and I’ve disappointed him in so many ways. I just wanna do the right thing but I have no self confidence and I have no one to push me towards that aim. It’s so hard for me alone in this world. I just feel like continuously doing the wrong thing and I keep telling myself that it’s just a phase and I’ll get over it but the truth is it feels good doing the wrong things. I just want someone to be there for me just as I’m there for everyone when they’re in need. I’m just so alone and that’s how my life is always going to be if it doesn’t change soon.

        Date: Wed, 23 Oct 2013 03:54:42 +0000 To: jennv07@hotmail.com

  14. It’s not my first time to go to see this web page, i am visiting this web site dailly and obtain nice information from here everyday.

  15. Finding this webpage has uplifted my spirits. Two months ago I had back surgery and now I am now experiencing gastritis.The other day my sister made me see that I should be grateful that my surgery went well and that what other symptoms I am experiencing God will heal me. Heavenly Father I trust in you and believe you will heal me and make me whole again; in the name of Jesus. I love you.

  16. hi, i just recently found out abt this web page. My family and i are facing a very difcult time at the moment. I lost my mom and dad, i’m staying with grandma and grandpa. I got a younger brother- our father died while he still called him uncle, he never called him #dad. Both my mother and father were killed regarding family matters. I had to cope at school with that fact, also admiring other learners talking about their parents. My sister, 6yrs oldr than me, she passd matric, she’s stil looking for a job since 2011 and nthng have came up yet. Sometimes we sleep without food @ night. Everyday when i come back frm school, i clean the house, cook, wash dishes, nd sometimes uniform. I wash every weekend. I am a boy, and i’m gay. My father was an abscent one, i never spent too much time with him. I also do have step brothers and sisters, they are never there for me, infact all my dad’s family is nvr thre. My family is having a financial problem, i really need help. I am baptized and recieved holy communion, but its been 2yrs i havent been to church, this problem have been affecting me and my relationshp with God.

    • I am so sorry to hear that you are facing so many troubles all at once. It is especially hard when it affects your relationship with God. I imagine you might feel angry with God for allowing all this stuff to happen. I encourage you to pray honestly and tell God exactly what you think because He is big enough to just listen and still love you anyway. A lament I have found helpful is Psalm 69:1-3:
      “Save me, O God, for the waters have come up to my neck.
      I sink in the miry depths, where there is no foothold.
      I have come into the deep waters; the floods engulf me.
      I am worn out calling for help; my throat is parched.
      My eyes fail, looking for my God.”
      You can then add in any other complaints you feel like.

      The next part of a lament is asking for help, I use Psalm 69:13-17.
      “Rescue me from the mire, do not let me sink;
      deliver me from those who hate me, from the deep waters.
      Do not let the floodwaters engulf me or the depths swallow me up,
      or the pit close its mouth over me.
      Answer me, O Lord, out of the goodness of your love; in your great mercy turn to me.
      Do not hide your face from your servant; answer me quickly, for I am in trouble”
      You can add other specific requests and other reasons why God should help you based on his character, such as helping the poor and needy.

      The last part of a lament is praise, and example is Psalm 69:30,32,33
      “I will praise God’s name in song and glorify him with thanksgiving.
      The poor will see and be glad – you who seek God, may your hearts live!
      The Lord hears the needy and does not despise his captive people.”
      Again you can add something that is relevant to you.

      Lastly I would encourage you to try to contact a church near you and ask them for help, perhaps they will be able to help you have enough to eat, and listen to you and pray with you. One way that God can help you is through his people.
      I pray that your relationship with God will improve and your life gets to a better place. Peace be with you.

    • Don’t give up. Jesus died for you. God is not going to leave you stranded on this storm. Read your bible. And pray. Cast all your burdens on him for he is waiting with arms wide open for you to turn to him. Please take care and God bless you. If you ever need to talk my email is chefmonica02@yahoo.com.

  17. Having a hard time right in my life. I’ve been 5 months without a job and my home is in foreclosure. Nevertheless I trust God and I believe he is going to work everything out in his time. I’m asking for everyone to keep Kevin in your prayers and that God gives me the strength to endur my trial.

  18. Thank you all for encouraging words, sometimes it gets so difficult that when you ask God for something and it’s just doesn’t happen then one will question where Our heavenly father is. I pray for quick healing for all of us who loves him and trust in Him.

  19. Praise be to the Lord, Jesus Christ. The message has really touched me. It has talked of my situationi. Now that i have read the word of God, surely things will change. Thank you. God is good all the time.

  20. I am new to the page and recently going through alot. However I can say I have never been closer to God. I just recently in the last 3months got back with my husband. I left him and came back pregnant with twins. It was a rough time. I gave birth via emergency c section and was really traumatized by it. I delivered at 28 weeks and 5 days. I placed the teins up for adoption. Im at peace with it but after coming home from the hospital I was bombarded with post partum depression, panic and anxiety attacks,guilt,shame,fear and scary catostrphic thoughts. Thank God for my churches and bible study and most of all his mercy. Im growing my faith and I am thankful for a second chance. I am finding out my true identity in Christ. Please pray for The Grudzinsky family.

  21. I want to thank you for those encouraging words of faith, only GOD knows I need him right now. Thank You

  22. I am also going thru a difficult time of sickness dat is deteriorating my health & overall looks. lots of weight loss & i’m still prayin & trustin 4 God’s intervention in dis situation in my whole family so I’l have a testimony soonest.

  23. I found this site just looking for encouragement. I’m severely depressed. I’m 39, married almost 20 years. My husband ad I have three autistic kids. We’re supporting my mother who is ill and doesn’t qualify for ANY government benefits. She’s also out of state, so I never get to see her. I had to quit my stressful job last year due to health issues and no childcare. We are going through a major financial crisis and our house is in foreclosure. We already have a bankruptcy and our credit is ruined. We’re behind on all of our bills and owe everybody. Some days I can’t even function, I’m so overwhelmed and frustrated. I’ve never stopped believing that God has always been there, I’ve held onto my faith, even though it’s been very shaky. I know we’ll get through this, but the hard part is having t live it.

  24. I want to say thank u for this faith wards that you have post,may god bles u.

  25. Well i was doing grade 12 last year 2013…and i didn’t make it and now i really don’t know how must i feel..bt i don’t blaim God for this because i know his always there…but my heart still hurts emotionally…

  26. This bible studies very god Go.d blessed ours amen

  27. Reblogged this on Sanctuary and commented:
    Very timely. :)

  28. Hi i am 16 years old boy ,i m in difficult times, my parents force me to pray man rather than god who created heavens and earth and he give us his son jesus christ to be our savior that we should believe in him . They believe in things they can handle , they tells me that they will beat me when i refuse to do such things sometime when they say this a big fear comes inside my body and heart sometimes i cry, i know we as children we should respect and take laws that our parents tells us to do ,, i am praying day and night things can’t change , maybe the devil uses them i dont knw what to do as a child i need help ;-(

  29. give me reflection about the faith

  30. I would lik to gt more of ths storys in my emails plz its helping alot

  31. This was very helpful

  32. It hurt me to hear that God is wild.

  33. My name is Jason. Im 32. I’m tired of feeling sorry for myself. I was married for 11 years to a good god fearing woman. I also have two kids by her. I treated her wrong. She filed for divorce which I agreed and I still miss her. She keeps the kids most of the time. She remarried. I’m constantly anxious, depressed, scared and lonely. My mind races. Im worried about my health which makes me even more anxious. What really bothers me is feeling foggy headed all the time like out of it feeling. I feel like I have stomach problems too. I get anxiety when I’m by myself too. I’m not working and I live at my mom and stepdads. I really don’t have any friends. There is alot of negative here and it doesn’t help. I’ve brought this on myself. I hardly ever go anywhere because of how I feel. I pray to god but feel like a failure. I pray to move on and get through this.

    • Jason…I’m a woman who has gone through…going through similar to your circumstances . Although , I was the one who kept my children. I did him wrong too. I’m still facing serious serious demons …if we read and follow advice like this website …I know we can endure. I too have brought all of my financial , emotional stress on to myself. Self pity…for sure.. it’s not good for us. We have to fight it. With all our might. Ask God for strength ….beg Him for mercy. Get up each day and ask God for His love to get you through one more day. We may feel like trash inside …but we aren’t!!! We are worthy of a beautiful life! Let’s both try to put our past behind us.

  34. I thank God for raising his servant I have now taken a giant step to follow Jesus,thanks man of God,for touching my life

  35. i am going through a lot of difficulty, all that God is to bless me and ans my prayers to always put food on my children table every months,pls pray for me.

  36. Thank You!!! God Bless the Author !

  37. I loved your post. It was so very helpful for me.

  38. I know this is a long paragraph but please read it I truly need the support
    …Hi guys I’m a 25 y/o guy who has going thru a lot in life my dad left my mom alone with me and my big sis I was only like a 9 month old when that happened but as I was growing up that hit me hard to know that my dad didn’t care about us but I was grateful to have such a hard working mom but it wasn’t easy for her she suffered from mayor depression and had a lot of down falls in life but she always had the strength to get back up to keep our family going. As I became an adolescent I had a lot of rocks on my path which made my life almost impossible I use to get in trouble and I use to be hanging out with the wrong crowd which made it worse. At the age of 15 I had to be separated from mom because she was scare that something bad would’ve happen to me if I kept on hanging out with those peoples so she send me to live with my grand mom the mother of my dad . Nothing was the same after that and I know I was young and probably not with the best mind at the time but the way that my grandmom treated me was unacceptable I was constantly blame for everything It wast like she didn’t want me there and at some points I thought that she didn’t love me or care about me but I kept on going and when i use to call my mom it was so sad because. I didn’t know how to tell her how I felt being there..my dad was also around but he didn’t care either he was an alcoholic and a drug user he did had a job but he sure did had bad habits and I never picture my self being like him that always been my fear…when I turned 18 I move out because I couldn’t take it no more so I left and after that my life was a challenge I started supporting my self short time after that I had a daughter my life change completely for the good and I was happy for a while I recently just had another child a baby boy but a short time before he was born I was experiencing a huge depression do to something that I brought up on my self which I regret with all my heart this depression or whatever it is doesn’t let me enjoy my new born the way I want to I’ve been experiencing bad thoughts and lack of being interested in life but I know god is not going to leave me alone on this one I know he has a purpose for everything I know I’m not this person but it takes a lot of strength to keep on going forward I just hope that I can just go past thru this I don’t want to lose my family or my job do this stage of life I want my life back but only god will be able to help me… Keep me on your prayers I need it my name is Jose

    • Jose,I am going thru a rough time too. . i am scared stiff of something that happened at work. . . as much as God and St. Therese the Little Flower had given me so much signs, the evil one is still hanging on my side. I say this because I still feel worry, fear and anxiety. Keep praying Jose, God is always beside us. Depression is the work of the devil. If you know how to pray the Rosary, do it or call on to the Blessed Mother and She will shield you. Ask God to send you the Holy Spirit. I will pray for you.

    • Hi Jose, I have prayed for you. I hope you have a powerful and personal encounter with Jesus, that you will know how much He loves you, how much he forgives you and that he will take care of you and provide for your needs. Only God can heal the deep hurts we have inside and give us fresh hope and joy – these are gifts from the Holy Spirit. May God bless you and give you peace.

  39. Hi the,my name is des and I’m 37,2014 has been a year if disaster for me n my family,my sons dad left us,my mum had a stroke,and my brother had to let go if his house,all of this is happening at once,no break in-between to catch my breath,my partner of 8yrs refuses to help us financially,so I can’t even pay school fees, but I thank God that he has given me the strength to pull through,if I didn’t have God in my life at this point I would probably have committed suicide,so hang in there guys,and thank you all for your encouragement,God bless

  40. Hi, My name is Ryan and I am 14. I have been recently going through some digestive issues and I find myself worrying about 75% of the day. I struggle with anxiety and depression and this worrying has stopped me from enjoying these past 1 or 2 months of summer. I hate to say that I have been contemplating suicide some of these days. I tend to freak out when I have health issues. I’ve never had a bad experience with doctors but ever since I could remember I’ve had an irrational fear of sickness. I’ve had an especially hard time trusting that the Lord will get me through this but now after reading this article I have faith that God will help me through these hard times. After about a month or two of struggling I am finally scheduling an appointment at my local doctors office. Keep me in your prayers guys, I need it!

  41. Hi, im undecided, I have the father of my 2 yrs who would like to marry me next year, already told my parents. But im very worried because I think he is not ready to settle down, he is always out to drink alcohol and everyday he comes home late when im asleep. Please advice.
    From Kefilwe

  42. Hi my name is Peter. Im 63 and life kinda got in the way I feel of my purpose – songwriting, not that its an easy task and it got harder. Am I wrong everyone downloading, so I have a no of projects that still interest me and I feel are my purpose if I can possibly get them done. One is the biblical tale Jonah ad the whale, I now call a new version Nineveh Blues — I played it to my son, I thought or think it flowed and was great, he liked my old version better from 87, theres some good songs from back then. I was or am a good writer having written for some grammy winners way back when, I can still write. I thought I had it sorted til he said the old songs are better but I haven’t got a story sorted from back then, maybe can crowd fund it, get one.
    I need to sort this, if you could pray for a good outcome it’d be great to have my songs heard. Best – Pete

  43. Thank you dear God and your most beloved son Jesus for this website. Thank you for leading me to it. May the Lord bless you all as He is sure to bless me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

